• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Challenging Ski Boot Situation

Elizabeth.I

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Hi Ladies! Wondering if anyone is in the same boat as me.

I'm an expert skier and I need new boots. I'm currently in the Head Raptor B5s (yes, they are junior boots haha). My feet are very narrow (currently in boots with an 87mm last) and relatively short for my height (I'm 5'7" and I wear a size 23). My problem is my shins/calves are slim and very long which makes cuff height an issue. I was told by a boot fitter that typically by the time you drop down to a size 23, they reduce the cuff height (as they assume you'd be a shorter person). This leaves me in boots with a cuff that's way too low (as it is in my current boots). I was speaking with Lou (one of the best boot fitters in Calgary) and at least out of the brands he carries, he thinks I'll need to have a custom boot made (i.e. transplant the cuff from a bigger boot onto the tiny boot). Problem is this is expensive. Does anyone have any ideas at all regarding how I can get high performance boots with an appropriate cuff height without paying a lot of money for custom boots? Any experience with the Atomic Hawx Ultra 130 Professional boot? Lou doesn't carry atomics. Not that I think I need a 130 flex per say (or want to pay $1000) but that's the only boot with a man's cuff that is small enough.

Thanks!