• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Accidentally Improved - Anyone else?

CAdreaming

Certified Ski Diva
Hi Divas,

As you may know, I am new to skiing. I started skiing at the end of last season and this is my first full season.
I had been skiing greens and was planning to try an easy blue run with an instructor by my side at the end of this season.

My DH and I were at Kirkwood yesterday. It was my first time there. And as any good beginners do, I searched for the good green runs that I can practice my skills while having fun skiing.

Well, I tried couple of green runs off the beginner lift and I quickly became bored with it. Kirkwood's beginner runs are gentler than the other Tahoe resorts where I have been skiing.
So, I decided to try another beginner run called Squirrel Ridge and this run was off another lift that mostly had blue runs.

To get to the Squirrel Ridge, I had to come down a short but very steep run while crossing an advance run where the advance skiers are speeding down.

As I was skiing down this very steep run, I looked to my right and there were the tops of the two different blue runs.
And I noticed that these blue runs were much flatter than the steep run that I had to ski down in order to get to my measly Squirrel Ridge.
In addition, I did not even have to cross the speeding down advance skiers and they were much wider than Squirrel.