• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Question: What is a good roller for IT Band?

Pequenita

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
So. I'm not a doctor, and generally I think that as a society we over google, etc. medical things to the point where we think that 30 minutes on the internet can counter 8+ years of medical school and training.

That said, if your injury is from overstretching the IT band, I have a tough time seeing how foam rolling (aka, putting more pressure on it) will heal it. If anything, there is a greater likelihood that the pressure you're putting on the band will create more tears. There are a bunch of articles out there about how people are enthusiastically foam rolling their IT bands and causing tears. On the other hand, increasing circulation to the area with gentle massage (long strokes) and rest make sense until the pain goes away, and then fixing the imbalances that caused the overstretching in the first instance.

mustski

Angel Diva