• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

more of a carve

Jcb2ski

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Had a good day of skiing and great conditions. But looking for a few tips to help me. I am still learning the new technigue that for many here is not new! However given I stopped skiing mid 90's and just started up late last year, I am still learning. So bear with me.

I have two questions:
The first one is for me. I notice when skiing the easier trails I can go down the fall line, turn and carve enough to feel in form.
Once on get on steeper trails and try the same technigue it tends to feel zig zaggy to control speed and notice I do what I use to do years ago, drag my upper pole to control speed. So know I do not have enough of a carve, but not sure how you do a more dramatic carve so you really see the bottom. I do not like feeling like I am going fast or not feel in control.

Any easy to explain exercises to practice or tips would be greatly appreciated. Videos are also welcomed to help here.

We all must start some where, thanks for your help.

vickie

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
JCB -- I tried to PM you, but I think you need 2 more posts (minimum of 25, maybe?) before that feature is available.

mountainxtc

Ski Diva Extraordinaire