• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

How often do you get new helmets?

EAVL

Certified Ski Diva
So there are end-of-season deals out there and no one in my house has had a new helmet for a couple of seasons. Well my husband might have bought one last year. I am a nurse and have seen the damage a head injury can cause. Even the commutative damage from repeated "minor" injuries can change your life. I also watched The Crash Reel (about snowboarder Kevin Pierce) and will never forget that! I bought my slopestyle-competing snowboarder a new helmet the next day after seeing that! I also plan to upgrade us to MIPS ones as we replace them. No one has a had a big crash on their current helmet and I would replace for sure after that. I just wonder about the small bumps both from little falls and dropping them. Mine recently fell out of the car and onto hard pavement when I opened the door. My kids attach theirs to their backpacks and then they hit walls and what not when they turn around to talk to each other on their way out the door. One of my daughter's coaches said you also have to take into account damage from the sun's UV rays breaking down the plastic. We get a lot of sun here during the winter. He says he attended an advanced coaches training where they said every season! He is also working with athletes who are flying many feet in the air and not casual riders. I