• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Where to find intermediate bumps?

marzNC

Angel Diva
This post by @brooksnow in another thread brought up a frustration that I've heard before from instructors.

As an instructor I try to find bumps to begin teaching them as soon as possible. My frustration is the grooming of every inch of novice and easier intermediate terrain so there are no beginner bumps to teach/practice on. Often the only bumps are on expert trails but how are people supposed to learn to have fun in the bumps when they don't see them until they're steep and deep? The "bumps" that develop on busy days on the steeper sections of intermediate trails are really just intermittent piles of snow in a vast slip and slide zone, nothing close to a good mogul run. I love a snow day when bumps develop naturally everywhere but those don't happen nearly often enough. Rant over...

Goals? After 4 days of skiing this season feeling stiff I'll say getting back to feeling smooth and flexible on snow. Oh yeah, and improving in trees and bumps!

I'll be at Sugarloaf every day - always happy to get a few runs in with divas if I'm not working.

The question I wonder about is where would someone find intermediate bumps? Of course, depends a lot on which region. In the Rockies, an obvious answer is Taos Ski Valley. Suggestions for the northeast? The midwest? The PacNW?

Jilly