• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Getting In Shape for 2016/17

W8N2SKI

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
This morning I signed up for my first ski club trip of the approaching season. This afternoon I started training. I've been "maintaining" this spring and summer but now I'm ready for some more specific ski-targeted workouts.

My background is competitive swimming, so I'll be doing that, plus weight training. My problem is that my dry land regimen has always been aimed at swimming, so I'm doubtless neglecting or under-emphasizing some key things that would be beneficial for skiing. None of the trainers at my gym ski, unfortunately, so they haven't been able to help all that much.

What do you all do in the off-season to start gearing up? Do you focus on specific free weight exercises or specific machines? Are there any non-weight related exercises you recommend (e.g., jumping or lateral movement stuff that will have other gym patrons avoiding eye contact)?

Any and all suggestions will be appreciated (and attempted - within reason :ski3:)

Shoot!! Newbie move!! I just noticed that there is a forum section for this topic. If someone in the know would like to move this post, that would be great w/me. Apologies. :booboo:

Last edited:

bounceswoosh

Ski Diva Extraordinaire