• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Help Needed: Air travel tips

DvR

Certified Ski Diva
Im just learning how to ski and heading to Deer Valley in a few weeks. This is will my first trip by air and I wondered what handy tips you veterans have about traveling with gear and clothing. Leaving my skis at home and have a separate bag for boots and helmet. Thanks!

COchick

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
I think everyone has their own methods of course, but here's what I like to do. I take my boot bag as my carry-on. In it are my boots, helmet, goggles, gloves, knee braces, one set of layers, socks, pants, jacket. Basically, my boot bag has everything I need to ski except the skis themselves. That way, if my luggage or my skis get lost in transit, I can still ski. OR, if I'm going straight from the airport to the mountain, I don't have to dig through all of my luggage or in my suitcase to find what I need. I never, ever, ever check my boots, because they're my babies. :smile:

I will typically have one large suitcase + boot bag + skis. I always pack a thermos and water bottle.

Christy

Angel Diva
The big tip is never check your boots. As long as your boot bag goes under your seat and can then be considered a personal item, you could either bring on a rolling carry on, or a larger suitcase that you check, for everything else.

Obrules15

Ski Diva Extraordinaire