• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Skis too big?

westcoastskigirl

Diva in Training
Hey guys! So I’ve been renting gear for about two years now and finally took the plunge for buying my own skis and boots. I average roughly twelve to sixteen days on the mountain so for sure saves a ton. That being said, when I was renting, I rented the nordica Santa Ana’s. One weekend I got the 88 in 158cm and the next weekend I did 93 in 172 or 158 I cannot remember. So I decided to buy the 88, but this is where is gets sticky. The store I demoed them from refused to sell them since it was mid season which fair, but I still had three more trips planned (one in whistler and the others in vail). I didn’t see the sense in spending roughly 600 in rentals when I could just buy now.
I started surfing online and found a demo Pair for a great price that I could use Affirm for !! Which as a new grad and tighter budget monthly payments was a huge win.
however, they were the Santa Ana 88 in 172cm. For reference, I’m 5’7 145 and an upper intermediate skier. I do mostly blacks and tougher blues. Can handle myself in the trees. Not a moguls girl, my left turning is not nearly as sharp as my right.
I’m worried I bought skis that are too long. I feel like I will be able to grow into them, but that being said I don’t want to be an absolute disaster while adjusting.