• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

When did wide become a trend?

TiffAlt

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
As I'm basically brand new to skiing, I've recently been introduced to the controversial "fat" and "skinny" ski debate. As I've said before, I really want to become better at carving and I've been searching for narrower width skis to demo, but with little success, at least here in the west. Background: after a not so great first experience buying sight unseen then a really successful demo with my Volkl Yumis, I've really come to see value in demoing. I actually called up a few places around here in Washington today and inquired into them possibly carrying both narrower and shorter skis in their demo fleet next season. I figured it never hurts to ask so they can see there is interest and I did get one store to reassure me they'd try to carry the Stockli Montero AX in shorter demo sizes next year!

TL;DR: When did wide skis become such a trend? Will the pendulum ever swing the other way in your opinion? Is this cyclical?

Last edited:

MissySki

Angel Diva
Honestly, I don’t really think it’s all that controversial. I started skiing around 15 years ago and there have always been people on very wide skis as their daily drivers and others not.. even in New England. Ski selection is very subjective.