• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Question: What Type of Mountain Bike?

SallyCat

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Seeking advice from experienced mountain bikers!

I've been having a great time on my 29er hardtail XC, building my skills and fitness and becoming a huge fan of MTB. I recently started riding some easy/intermediate lift-served trails as well. I can't afford to keep renting downhill bikes, and for the easy stuff I do, I don't think I really need a true DH bike, anyway.

So, now it's time to start looking for a full-suspension bike with slacker geometry than the XC bike. I'd like, if such a thing exists, a trail bike that will also be suitable for downhill riding and small jumps. Am I looking for an "enduro" bike? Or am I (please say no!) looking for two different bikes?

It will take me a long time to save up the money for a full-suss bike (I imagine the 3k range is where I'd be looking?) so in the meantime I want to research and demo.

I'm hoping that those of you with more experience can help direct me toward the type of bike that i should be looking for (category, how much travel, what components to seek out/avoid, etc).

Also, do you recommend buying new? I've heard that it's not always a great idea to buy a used full-suspension bike, since they tend to be abused.

Thanks very much for any help!