• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

What is "too much ski"? Blizzard Pearl 88

TiffAlt

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Hi everybody! Have been a lurker for about a month or so and I love that this forum exists for us! I need some advice on what is "too much ski." ... So I'm a beginner who has fell in love with skiing after the first couple lessons - I'm on my eighth lesson now, doing it once a week, but the lessons will end soon as they transition to spring season. I'm afraid I made a mistake though. I took the dive for well fitted boots and I was so pleased with how much better they made my skiing that then I decided what the hell - and a week later bought new skis too. Now I'm having trouble controlling my speed.

A bit of back story - I'm a 5'2 115 pound 40 year old attending group lessons on Crystal Mountain Resort in Washington State. I started learning a few weeks ago on rental skis that were 1 year old Rossignol Experience men's skis, 136cm length, 78cm waist. They felt shaky when I picked up speed - which I did very easily on any slope - more on that later. Before I went to buy skis, I researched a bit on this forum and had set my mind on a smaller waist - nothing wider than what I was learning on.