• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Help Needed: Taking the plunge with new skis!

VASkier

Certified Ski Diva
Hi everyone, I’m new to Ski Diva so thanks in advance for your advice! I’ve done a lot of reading over the past few days, and there is valuable info here.

I’m going to buy a new pair of skis, and could use a gut-check. Here is my background info:

• 5’6”ish, 145ish, 40 yrs old
  • Currently do most skiing in PA, grew up and still do some skiing in NY, dying to go back out to UT, and have a trip planned in March!
  • Level is Advanced, but not Expert
  • Spend just as much time skiing greens/blues with my kids (6/8) as I do more challenging blues/blacks
  • For “adult –only” ski, I like to go fast/fun with a mix of turns – mostly short, some long, and I’m enjoying improving over bumps
  • Not really sure there is much off piste where I ski these days, but you East Coast skiers know about the different conditions we encounter
  • I don’t want to have to work hard ALL of the time, and especially need to be able to tone it down when with the kids (my 6 y.o. has autism and so will be in slowww learning mode for several years to come) OR when my legs are shot
  • Current boots (if this matters) – Tecnica Attiva V80 UItrafit (LOVE them)
  • Current skis (don’t laugh) – 12+yr old stainless Volant Vertex Powercarves (160+)