• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add webmaster@theskidiva.com to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Ski Recommendations for lightweight skier

tinygirl

Diva in Training
Hi everyone! I've been skiing for about 10 years, usually just a week or two each season. I'd consider myself to be an advanced intermediate skier (and most of my friends would agree). Since I don't ski too much and don't have a lot of storage space in my apartment, I generally rent, but I'm beginning to realize that the beginner skis they usually give me are just not cutting it. On my most recent trip, however, I tried some upgraded skis and felt entirely overpowered.

I'll probably keep renting because of the above concerns, but I'm wondering what sort of skis I should look into on my next trip. I'm about 5' 3" (160cm) and 100lbs. All of the ski length calculators say I should look for skis in the 148-156cm range, which sounds about right. Based on some comments in another thread, someone mentioned there could be minimum weights for women's skis, so I'm wondering if juniors skis might work better.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

ski diva

Administrator
Staff member