• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Ski boots too big?

Malerie McArdle

Diva in Training
This is my first year skiing (ever!) and I instantly fell in love, and so bought my own skis, poles, etc. My boyfriend got me a beautiful pair of ski boots for Christmas, and I've been skiing in them all season, but I feel like they might be too big. They seemed to fit when I first tried them on, but now that I've skied in them 20+ times, my foot feels way too narrow inside of the boot, and it almost feels like there might be too much space in the toe box (my toes don't touch the end of the boot, even when standing normally without flexing). My foot measures just over 27cm, so the boots are 27.5cm, so theoretically, this is the correct size, right? I'm typically a size 10 in street shoes (10.5 in trail runners because I like the extra toe space).
Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there a way to fix a boot that's slightly too large/narrow? I love the boots, and where they were a gift, I would feel horrible if I couldn't continue to ski with them next season.

Susan L

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Best to find a bootfitter to take a look. It involves more than just the sole length to get a good fit in any boots.

SallyCat

Ski Diva Extraordinaire