• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Seeking Support Picking Boots

Skiierwithcurves

Diva in Training
Trying to buy new ski boots and having a rough time feeling confident. I’m 30 and this is my first time really being able to spend on a good pair of skis and boots to use for the next couple decades. I spent a couple hours at ski shops with male salesmen that made me feel crazy for wanting a comfortable boot. Ended up buying what one of them had me try on in the store (Salomon S/pro 90s) but it is so painful at home. I know I can get it custom fitted in an oven but it feels risky if the boot is so painful. So I want to know - is it really that crazy to just size up? My current boots are a 25.5 (a used old pair I bought in college). I have toe room in them and yes my feet can slide forward sometimes. The salemen wouldn’t even let me try on a 25 and said I have to go with 24. I just moved to a ski town so I don’t want to limit myself by opting for comfy over what is “right,” but I’m never going to be an Olympic skier, I just want to get good enough to join the local beer league! Looking for advice and maybe some validation that male salesman can have overly rigid opinions.

bsskier

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Where are you located? Someone here might be able to steer you to a trusted boot fitter.

Jenny

Angel Diva
They are probably too big.