• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

New extra petite skier

xxs_skier

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Hello everyone,

I just started learning how to ski with my family last year and have probably skied about 10 times total. While my family loves skiing, I'm still on the fence because it's been such a struggle to learn. My 9 year old is already skiing black diamonds and my 6 year old is already doing all the side hits. My husband hasn't caught up to their skill level yet, but he's further along in parallel while I'm still trying to figure it out.

A few stats about me: Ski on the West Coast (Vancouver), 40ish years old, 5'0 (or maybe a hair under), weight: 92 pounds, mondo size 215 with bunions. When I was starting out I use using rental equipment so I was in 22.5 boots with varying ski lengths. I bought gear when we decided to commit to the sport and had Nordica Speedracer Jr. J3 and Blizzard Pearl Jr. 130cm. I was getting foot numbness and went back to the shop where I bought my boots from and the sales associate decided that the jr boots that I was currently in weren't right, refunded me the purchase and put me in Lange with a 4 buckle system. It's currently being worked on to accommodate my foot issues, so I haven't skied with them yet.