• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Ideas for a Women's Camp

Nedgirl

Certified Ski Diva
Hi Divas,

I work as an instructor in Colorado, and for the first time am teaching a 1-day women's camp. I've been thinking of some ideas, but I'd love to hear from you, as to what you would find most helpful. It's around 6.5 hours, and I expect I will be teaching solid intermediate skiers. What kind of skills, drills, or general things would you hope to learn?

Thanks!

geargrrl

Angel Diva
Here are some things to think about:
How many total per camp?
What will be your instructor/student ratio?
How will you sort attendees by skill? Do you have them self-sort before they sign up? What if they turn out to be out the range you were planning for?

Most one day programs I have been to have been pretty disorganized. Sure, they've had yoga, coffee, wine and cheese etc but when it came to actual instruction I've been very disappointed. A lot of time gets spent on herding and sorting which leaves very little time for actual on the hill teaching.

So, my suggestion is forget all the girl power, mood enhancement stuff and get to the skiing. You will have to sort by ability no matter what so figure out an efficient way to do that. "Solid Intermediate" covers a wide range.

What will be your response to those who ask, "why no beginners?" or "why no advanced skiers?".