• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Helmets?

MilkyWookiee

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Just curious for any divas who don't ski in a helmet, what's your reasoning? For those who do, when did you start and why? How often do you replace? I've been wearing one for about 3 years now, ever since I started skiing faster and on steeper terrain, and I've been thankful many times! I've been told to replace every 5 years or after a fall that causes visibile damage to the helmet. When I used to ride horses the rule of thumb was replace after any fall where you hit your head, regardless of whether or not damage is visible.

newboots

Angel Diva
I might be an outlier. I starting skiing last year, at an (ahem!) advanced age. I have no interest in a head injury. I started with a helmet and won't ski without one.

diymom

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Of course the safety factor is the most important one, but then throw in that it is warmer than a toque, blocks the wind, gives you something to clip your goggles onto, and for some there's there's the audio option. I consider a helmet an essential part of my gear. My only problem is finding one that fits my egg head. And I don't find the adjustable ones comfortable. So I probably kept my last helmet longer than I should have while hunting for a new one. Note to self, next time start hunting for a new one before I need it.

Jilly