• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Dual Purpose Boots - Race Coaching Boots Doubling as Back Country/Hike Mode Boots

K Skis

Diva in Training
Hello! This is my first time on the forum, so I hope I'm doing it right :-). I was wondering if anyone has experience dual purposing boots. I coach Development Team for "littles" (5-8 year olds), and we, as a family, are dabbling in starting up backcountry skiing. I am looking to dual purpose boots with a good walk mode for coaching (standing at the tops/bottoms of the course) and for use as my boots for starting out in "early stages" of backcountry skiing.

I currently ski/coach/race with Lange XT 110s, and am looking at the Lange XT Free 90. I have a small foot (22.5 mondo, 5 1/2 US shoe size) boot. I'm wondering if the flex of 90 will be too soft, or if I should be looking at the 110s.
I've heard that you should go a bit softer with backcountry boots, but I am not sure if the 90 flex may be too soft.

Does anyone have thoughts/opinions/recommendations? Thank you very much for your thoughts!

MissySki

Angel Diva