• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Does skiing come as naturally to you as other sports?

abc

Banned
I'm not a super expert, but I've achieved a higher level of skill skiing than any other activity I've ever participated in. This makes it that much more special to me.:ski2:
It just occurred to me why I'm not crazy about skiing...

I'm a pretty quick learner when it comes to sports, except when it comes to skiing!

I'm usually able to achieve "above average" level in about a season or two in most sports I tried. Not in skiing. It took about 5 to even be an average intermediate. By then, I've pretty much lost my motivation and moved on to x-c skiing. Not to mentioned by then I also moved away from the snow belt... No skiing of any kind for two years!

In that time, I also had my first, then second knee injury. The first time I had ANY sports related injuries, EVER! That was absolutely scary. :(

It took a ski crazy boyfriend and a couple trips to Europe to got me re-interested in downhill skiing. Though my objective in skiing has changed, from a sport to an excuse to see the world, to places and in seasons others don't travel.

Busting through the "intermediate plateau" was very important. But then the "lift ticket plateur" got in the way. And not having any more ski crazy friends to ski with put an end of my second period of ski enthusiasm...