• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Blizzard black pearl and volkl secret

woobata

Diva in Training
I was at mammoth over the weekend and had a quick afternoon demo. I was only able to get on 2 skis, limited by the fact that during my demo I also was skiing with 2 kids. I’m just learning to ski, doing stem turns. I’m 5’4; 135 lbs and expect to ski inbounds.
I took each of the skis on blue runs. It snowed 7 inches the day before, soft but not deep, and I was on groomers. I expect to ski mostlyat mammoth or in park city.

black pearl 88, 153
Secret 92; 156

I didn’t love the black pearl, felt like it was harder to turn. But on the forums everyone talks about how easy they are to turn.wheras I felt like the secret was easier to turn, and felt a lot more stable. Is the unstable feeling of the BP what people refer to as pop? Or were the BP too short for me? I also think it’s also because I don’t know how to really turn.
However on the Secret I did cross my skis a couple times, is that just me not use to skis?
My husband is a skier, and I wish he was with me to watch my form but someone has to watch the 4 year old.
i thought that I would not be able to handle any metal in the ski before I demoed, but now feel like the BP were too soft? I’m a snowboarder, and I think the secret may have felt more natural for the edge to really stick like on my board?