• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

BackCountry/Uphill/AT/Touring - skiing support thread for newbs!

echo_VT

Angel Diva
hi,
i'm new to backcountry/uphill/AT/touring this year and i just did my first ascent up Hunter Mtn with hubs. it was 4F out and bitterly cold. i carried a pack to "train" for it. we ascended and descended 1700 ft in about 1h 25m - i'm looking to be a little faster, maybe 1h 15m.

if you're experienced, do you have any tips with regards to transitions at the top where it is windy and cold? i know i should be fast, but i am fairly slow. maybe b/c it is my first time. if you have a particular order you prefer to do things, i'm interested.

also, do you have any must-have gear items? i will be going out west for an AIARE course level 1 at Steven's Pass with the Mountain School. They told me I must have a hard shell pant, but everyone I'm speaking to says a soft shell pant (or a hybrid soft/hard shell) will do just fine. i really don't want to spend $499-$599 on a hard shell bib with full zip. i may just borrow a friend's as he's on the small side and i can probably fit into his more than hubs (he's about 5'7" and hubs is 6').

i'm also interested in bringing my helmet for the descent, but hubs said not to bring it. i think he's crazy.