• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Advice on how to read the terrain

newbieM

Angel Diva
OK, I have a total newbie and dumb question that may not even have an answer.

Is there advice or tips on how to best read a terrain? Maybe this just takes experience but sometimes slopes look scary to me when they actually aren't or sometimes things go up and then over and I can't quite see over and think the worst. I am only doing greens, so do I just need to trust that it isn't so bad?

I don't feel confident trying new routes even though they are green and should be my level. Any suggestions? Maybe the simple answer is that I just have to keep doing it until I learn to read it better?

Jilly

Staff member
Experience I'd say.

For you, you might want to find a group that skis, but don't really want a lesson, but some tips are welcomed. That should help with that.

For example, I'm going to take @MarieFromMontreal next weekend on some runs that she's not confident on. We did one on Monday already. I have a few more for her. She'll be guided as to the best way down etc...

newbieM

Angel Diva
Thanks @Jilly that is great advice! Any advice on how to best go about doing that? I am a bit self conscious because I am a beginner and someone might not want to spend an hour or two showing a beginner around.

Jilly

Staff member