• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Challenges to getting ready for skiing

skiPTcynthia

Diva in Training
I volunteered to collect some information on skiers for work (I’m a trainer at my local YMCA in New England). Beyond COVID:

On a “normal” year: what fitness problems do you try to address and what challenges do you face when it comes to getting in shape/ready for skiing.

Thanks to all of you for helping me with this, I appreciate the Divas weighing in on this.

Tvan

Angel Diva
Legs, core, balance and cardio are my primary focus. I do a mix of running, yoga, Pilates, stretching and weights...all at home.

VickiK

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
I’m usually trying to address leg and core strength, overall flexibility (especially in my hips), and cardio.

My biggest challenge has always been cardio.
This is true for me, too, so I'm piggybacking on @MissySki 's words. The only thing I'd add to the list is balance, at least not losing any as I get older.

skiPTcynthia

Diva in Training
I’m usually trying to address leg and core strength, overall flexibility (especially in my hips), and cardio.

My biggest challenge has always been cardio.
Thanks for answering; your answer is very helpful
This is true for me, too, so I'm piggybacking on @MissySki 's words. The only thing I'd add to the list is balance, at least not losing any as I get older.