• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Question: Tiny Woman

rexfans

Diva in Training
I am 4'10", 110 lbs and 64 years old. I have been skiing for 30 years, including recreational racing 20 years ago. But I have only been skiing a few times a year the last few years. I was an advanced-intermediate to advanced skier but now ski more cautiously on groomed blues, a few easier blacks and off-piste only when conditions are good. My last skis were Olin DTVs (160s I think). I raced on Targa Rs 175s.
I live in the Pacific Northwest where it often rains and the snow gets really heavy (known as Cascade Concrete). It often then freezes up. I was looking at K2 Superfrees. They had last year's model in a 139. They seemed awfully short to me but the next size up was a 146 which I was afraid would be too much for me at this age.

I can't demo because of my size (my boots are 15 yr old Lange Jr. Racers in a 21, a size no longer available) I know that ski length is a matter of preference, but any suggestions and insights from other women about what might suit me best would be helpful. Thanks

Little Lightning

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Hi and welcome!