• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

Fear behind me

sandtan

Diva in Training
... Hi Ladies .. Love the skidiva site!! .. Anyway as a fairly recent (6 yrs) self taught very controlled casual skier i have come to fear and almost lose control of my own skiing upon hearing snowboards sliding up behind me. My fello skierd say im almost always looking up hill! Each time i have been wiped out has been by an out of control person to which i have now developed a paranoia ... Any feedback as to how to overcome this?

marymack

Ski Diva Extraordinaire
Welcome to SkiDiva.
Hmm... I don't know if you can fully protect yourself...generally keeping up with the flow of traffic and picking a "lane" and staying in it will help. The more predictable you are, the less likely others coming up behind you will need to react quickly to avoid you. Be aware when you are stopping that you aren't stopping in the middle of the trail or at the bottom of a roller where you can't be seen from above.
I know I get more nervous when I'm on the heel side of a boarder that they won't see me and will cut in front of me, but calling out "on your left" usually is enough to keep them aware.

sandtan

Diva in Training