• Women skiers, this is the place for you -- an online community without the male-orientation you'll find in conventional ski magazines and internet ski forums. At TheSkiDiva.com, you can connect with other women to talk about skiing in a way that you can relate to, about things that you find of interest. Be sure to join our community to participate (women only, please!). Registration is fast and simple. Just be sure to add [email protected] to your address book so your registration activation emails won't be routed as spam. And please give careful consideration to your user name -- it will not be changed once your registration is confirmed.

After a good outing, a bad outing…feeling defeated (newbie here)

EeveeCanSki

Certified Ski Diva
Hi everyone…I’m a newbie skier here, 4 days total on the slope over three seasons. I’ve been (very) slowly gauging my desire and commitment to pursue the sport, and this year after purchasing a pair of boots suitable to my narrow feet, had a breakthrough on my third outing ever, where I felt like I was floating down a hill. Granted it was the bunny hill, but I was linking turns well (small wedge, wedge christies), truly feeling the transition from flat to edge, beginning to use my edges, having fun following my instructor down, and we tackled a steeper green with success at the hill I visited and I was feeling great. This was two weeks ago, after about eleven months between outings. I was so encouraged by this that, and with the support of my skiing SO, I purchased skis. These were a different model from my rentals, something a local shop recommended because I could grow with them, and were longer (136 cm rental vs 142 cm purchase, these skis come to my chin, I’m 5’4”). My goal for the next few seasons is to ski with confidence and control on greens and longer green cruisers, so therefore mellow, but still fun, so I would think I’d be stable enough on something shorter. Also if I’m to be realistic, we may go 2-4 times in a season.